Musings of a working Mom

Some Inspiration

The other day on Twitter, just before the six pack challenge, I saw a link to a blog post by Joel Runyon where he met Russell Kirsch (inventor of the worlds first internally programmable computer). Loved the blog post so much that I subscribed to his ‘Impossible’ emails that he sends, but directly after subscribing I worked on a project where I didn’t have access to the internet, so I didn’t read the posts that I got.

While on a weekend away I saw the six pack challenge, and then after the weekend away I started reading the Joel Runyon mails. I read he did an 8 week six pack challenge as one of his Impossible things, and he has the photoshoot to prove it. He exercised 30 minutes a day, and didn’t go to a gym. Some great inspiration here 

I still don’t have a definite plan in my mind, but so far I’ve been trying to eat less sugar, and less carbs, but not cutting it out. I think cutting out dairy might make a big difference for me, but I just love it too much.

On the exercise front I’ve been running up and down our stairs for cardio (surprisingly tiring), and trying various crunches. One thing I’ve been doing where I can feel a difference on is being conscious of my tummy area the whole time. So in my 8 hours of sitting in front of the computer at work I’m trying to sit with my stomach pulled in. Walking or driving around I also pull my stomach in every few minutes and just hold it in for a few seconds.

This weekend I’m going to try and write down a better exercise plan.

One thing I’m impressed with is normally I would just make excuses (the drive home after work took 2 hours…I’m too tired because the baby was up 4 times during the night….I only got to bed past 10 and had to get up before 5 etc etc), and because of those I’d give myself permission to not do anything, but even with those things I did a few minutes of exercises and you do feel better afterwards.

Thank you for taking the time to reply