Musings of a working Mom

This is a very difficult one for me. I don’t see myself as a particularly kind person. I don’t try to be cruel or nasty, but I also don’t go out of my way to be kind. I use to give a lift to some people at the office, but when my first born started crèche I would be late in picking her up when I first dropped of other people. That meant I had to tell them I can’t give them a lift anymore and I still feel guilty every time I see them walking.

I don’t like to give money to beggars. That comes from the time that I was doing charity work in Hillbrow (a very run down area in Johannesburg), and I witnessed firsthand what they did with the money they received. Especially the kids. It was horrible to see them passed out, drugged from sniffing glue. Some of them under 10 years old. Even when we gave out food the rule was they had to eat the food in front of you otherwise they would sell the food to get money for glue.

But I’m not totally heartless like it might sound from the paragraphs above. Recently I saw on twitter that one of the other bloggers needed maternity clothing and I still had mine so I gave that to her. I always give all the outgrown children’s clothing to charity (our clothing as well); some of them are like new. We adopted both our dogs, and whenever I see people collecting money for animal causes I can’t help to give.

I’m also registered on the bone marrow database and I’m hoping to help someone with that some day. I would urge everyone to be on that database. Something so simple could make you save someone’s life.

31-day-blog-challenge-march-2013-ad

Comments on: "Day 6: Last random act of kindness – 31 Day March Blog Challenge" (5)

  1. That was nice of you to give her some of your old maternity clothing.

  2. It was lucky that I saw her tweet (a retweet from someone else) and we are the same size and she lives just around the corner from me.

  3. cristys18 said:

    I also do not give money to beggars. I feel they could make use of that time and do day jobs. We have several places around here that pay you for the day. I need to get cards printed with how to contact those places and give that to the beggars. I am willing to help people that are willing to help themselves, but not just to beg for money. That’s horrible about the children. At such a young age they already do that. So sad.

  4. The fact that you are willing to go through such a painful process as donating bone marrow, to save lives no less, shows just how truly kind and giving you are!

  5. It is so sad that there are so many people out there that take advantage of kind people in this day and age. I understand your not wanting to help the beggars. We don’t hand out money to people either. I like to do ‘random acts of kindness’ for people that I know need help. I just don’t want them to know where it came from. Come visit me at
    http://paulasplace-paula.blogspot.com/2013/03/a-random-act-of-kindness-that-was-not_6.html

Thank you for taking the time to reply

Tag Cloud

