Musings of a working Mom

By far my biggest fear is that anything would happen to my kids. I don’t even want to think about it, and the news is always so full of horrible things that happen that I’m grateful every day that we are all safe.

And another fear, that is very irrational…moths. I have mottephobia. I’ve gotten better, because I try not to freak out over them when the kids are around, but that is not always successful. When any moth use to come into the house I’d scream like crazy, run to the closest room and lock myself into it until husband got rid of the thing. Nowadays I only do it with the bigger moths. And when the smaller ones start flying into me. Just thinking about it and I feel like I can’t breathe. I had such a bad experience one night. I was giving the youngest a bath. He was only about 2 or 3 months old, so couldn’t sit upright yet. I heard something that sounded like a bird hitting the window. I looked up and it hit again and again. I realised it was an enormous moth, and it was slowly making its way to the open window. If I jumped quickly I could close the window before it could get in, but I couldn’t leave the baby in the water. I watched as it came in and it was flying all over in the bathroom. I was crouching on the floor next to the bath, holding the baby in the bath screaming at my husband to come and help. I was too scared to just take the baby out and to his room. I am laughing now thinking back at the scene.

Here’s some pictures of some moths we had in our house. They are not the biggest we’ve had, but these ones had red glowing eyes, and if you sprayed them with insect killer they made a screaming noise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 31-day-blog-challenge-march-2013-ad

Comments on: "Day 21: What’s your biggest fear? March Blog Challenge" (3)

  1. Laura Greene said:

    You’re afraid of moths? I just think of them as ugly, stupid butterflies. Well, there are some moths in the world that are just as beautiful as butterflies, but not around where I live. I’ve never seen any so large, though. Where do you live?

  2. I’ve never heard of mottephobia, but believe me, if I had moths that size in MY house, I’d be screaming too.

  3. I get it.. ugly looking things flying right toward your head! hah. I hate moths too. I always have to dodge them and RUN into the house at night in the summer as the love our porch light.

Thank you for taking the time to reply

Tag Cloud

